Best Birthday Gift!

Hi all, hope you all have been doing well! With the festivities kicking in, and the weather getting pleasant I’m all excited for the celebrations that would last longer than usual.

Sitting in my comfort with a cup of perfect cardamom tea, in my mind I was counting all the birthdays that are about to come. And only then I realised that me and my wife would be completing 26 years of marriage. It only seems about yesterday when I had got married and, it was my wife’s first birthday after marriage.

My entire family was ecstatic about her birthday, moreover the newly wedded daughter-in-law’s birthday celebration was no joke. It was a chilly evening of January, just a day before her birthday when all of us had gathered for a sumptuous dinner as usual, followed by a piping hot sweet dish that we all relished. In no time it was midnight while we were all talking and laughing when my mother brought a cake to be cut by my wife. She was very happy, all of us wished her and my mother and brothers gave her lots of gifts.

It was close to two o’clock when my mother sent us away to get back to our respective rooms as the following day was working for all of us. My wife was super excited and I could see that she was happy, but I hadn’t given her any gift. She probably must have thought that I might surprise her next morning, so she without any inquiries, went off to sleep. The next morning she woke up to a big bouquet of her favourite red roses and a saree sent to her by her parents who stayed in a different state. In that excitement she again didn’t ask me about what I had brought for her.

She had a long day at home with my mother that day with so many of my neighbours pouring in to wish her and other relatives who stayed nearby as well. I’m sure, she was on cloud nine and also a bit curious about what I might gift her as I hadn’t mentioned anything about it yet. That late afternoon suddenly I turned up before my actual time. My wife was surprised and thought, that probably this was the gift for her that I had returned early.

My mother jokingly asked my wife, what did my son gift you, to which she replied that he came home before time was the gift that he must have thought of giving to her. My mother was laughing slowly and then suddenly she said go pack your bag with a set of clothes, because you are going to your parents house. My wife couldn’t register what my mother said. I was standing close to my mother and shook my wife, and told her to pack for both of us because we were getting late as we had to catch a train. Also the driver was waiting in the car to take us to the railway station.

My wife was in a complete shock, she quickly ran back into the room after my mother nodded and brought a bag with our clothes and in no time we left for the station. We reached there and our train was just in time. Apparently the trains usually arrive later at their destinations during winters, but unbelievably our train was fifteen minutes before time.

We got down at the station and hired a cab. We reached my in-laws house in less than twenty minutes we were outside the big gate of her house. We got down from the cab with our bag and saw that the lights had not been lit. Her parents must have forgotten today. My wife approached the bell and pressed it the way she usually did, my father-in-law came rushing from inside and yelled with tears when he actually saw my wife on her birthday at her house. You see he was clueless about our arrival, as my wife had spoken to him the previous night and even the same afternoon, so when she knew nothing I decided to keep it as a little secret, else how would have I seen those moments of sheer joy…

He quickly took us in, while we met my mother-in-law who almost choked with emotions , my father-in-law switched on all the lights of the house and of the verandah. While I left the duo to talk, I came outside the room to the dining hall, where the food was kept. My father-in-law by that time came and patted me on the back and said that we had planned to have only those dishes that my wife liked.

But my father-in-law seemed to be in a rush. He frantically started making calls to his friends and other colonels who lived nearby inviting them over for a party, in an hour, wearing whatever they were wearing but with no gifts. He quickly ordered the servants of the house to run errands and do the needful. By this time my mother-in-law and my wife had exchanged heart to heart conversations and seemed to be extremely happy, they too began helping the servants.

Everyone came over for a last minute grand birthday party and without gifts as they knew that my father-in-law wouldn’t receive any at any cost. They all enjoyed a typically lavish party thrown by a commanding officer which had everything, you name it and it was there. From drinks to snacks to dinner, not forgetting the cake and with a delectable sweet dish.

All this while I was observing my in-laws and my wife. What I understood that day, can never be forgotten. My wife being the first child always had her parents extra love and pampering, and they had always celebrated her birthday in a grand manner ever since she was a baby. My mother-in-law who was a great cook was always appreciated by all but my father-in-law was a perfect planner, never failed to impress anyone. Who would have thought that their married daughter would give them the privilege of celebrating her birthday with them. And that day there was a bond that became stronger between me and my dear in-laws and of course the strongest with my wife. So, a girl leaves behind everything to become everything of a new house and family, isn’t it our responsibility as good husbands or in-laws to prove all cliches wrong and give her a life full of good memories?

So move out of the typicality and cliches and see how things go right, and work in your favour always! Have a good time folks, see you soon!

2 comments

  1. sidatitsbest · August 10, 2019

    Mother-son duo always have their way with situations! I’m sure your wife still cherishes the first birthday memories after marriage. Great post!👍

    • shalaish · September 1, 2019

      I believe that small surprises become lifelong memories, so if nothing big, we can atleast fill the lives of our loved ones with thoughtful surprises n gestures.

Leave a comment