Doctors Our Superheroes – II

I begin this blog with a big thank you to all my readers as I received the best response for my previous blog ‘Doctors Our Superheroes’. I was delighted to be the recipient of a number of mails as well as phone calls from my friends and family. Trust me it’s an overwhelming feeling for an emotional personal like me. My purpose of writing these blogs is never monetary benefits or popularity, it is to bring happiness to my readers like the title suggests, those who have followed my posts know these are real life experiences, written with honesty so that it makes a difference in the mindset or attitude of those who read. If I was able to touch even a few hearts or made them rethink towards a more positive and broader outlook, I am a happy man. Also the fact that I have completed 70 blogs makes me wonder that we have truly come a long way together.

Now this blog is about the responses I got for the last one. I am sharing a few with you. The first phone call came from a dear friend of mine whose daughter wanted to speak to me. Our conversation was quite emotional. She began by thanking me for writing a wonderful blog which was shared by her father. She was very happy to have read it, as it provided her with a clarity and courage to take the right decision. She had been in a dilemma whether to go for medicine as a profession, a career which she wanted to pursue, but she had been discouraged over the years to not take it up due to a number of reasons. She was so impressed and inspired after reading about the doctors, especially the second one that she had firmly made up her mind to be a successful, smart, elegant and competent doctor. There was passion and fervour in the way she was discussing her future plans. The funniest part of the conversation was that the girl told me that she shares an important quality with Dr. Shalini, which was, that she always puts the thread in the needle for her mom, yet her hands never shake, they are always steady. Believe me I kept laughing on this remark of hers for days. She has scored the 3rd highest marks in class tenth in her school and happily opted for science stream with biology. God bless her to achieve her dreams and aspirations.

The second call came from an MBBS student, in second year. She told me that she had been impressed by the doctors, plus a wee bit envious too. Since she is pursuing the same profession, yet not sure if she would have the finer qualities, for she wants to be a successful professional without ignoring the humanitarian aspect. She began questioning me as to how I judge a person’s merits and shortcomings. My answer was very simple, firstly dedication towards one’s goals and the eyes of a person which are like the mirrors of their soul, reflecting the reality of the person inside. I believe in honest eyes, they have never made me regret my opinion in the past.

I received a lot of emails from different corners of the world saying that people have had terrible, infact bitter experiences with doctors and my experiences were far away from reality. To which I responded that I had written at the end of my blog that it all depends on you, your behaviour or luck sometimes also. Sometimes the queries are too many or irrelevant that they might annoy or frustrate a doctor who is already very busy. Further it’s not possible to explain technical nuances to a common man.

Though this blog is getting long, but there were some more interesting calls which I don’t want to ignore. There was a late night call from my cousin who had just finished reading my blog, for they have twins who keep them busy during the day. Her response was the most heartening because she was so impressed by the doctors that she wished that her daughters would take up this noble profession, even if they didn’t, they grow up to be honest, upright and sensitive individuals. This also reminds me that I made a big mistake in my previous blog, as I forgot to mention the parents of these doctors, who should be thanked, without their guidance, upbringing and good values no person can evolve as a complete personality. I told her to give her children the right values and congenial atmosphere from the start, as only a fragrant flower can pass on its fragrance to its offsprings. Roses only bloom in a rose bush or plant.

There are a lot of good people in this world and so many more who want to be good including me. So there shouldn’t be anything to stop us from being a good human being. Therefore, follow the examples of the good people around us and evolve as better personalities. I am grateful once again to the three doctors for touching my life along with so many others and making a difference. For a single candle can light thousands of other candles.

2 comments

  1. sidatitsbest · August 10, 2019

    Oh what a superb lady she must be, I am sure she definitely has amazing skills that have impressed you so much. What a person she must be, who helps people wholeheartedly! Wonderful post and the lady!! Kudos👍👍

    • shalaish · September 1, 2019

      No doubt she is an amazing lady n doctor. Any adjective i use for her isn’t enough to describe her. Thankyou dear!

Leave a comment