Theory Of Happier Living!

Today is such a wonderful morning, with the cool wind and grey clouds in the sky bringing the temperature down. This got even better when it started to pour. Standing in my balcony, enjoying these showers of blessings from the almighty above, I felt like the most important as well as the happiest man on earth. This feeling which has been tickling me since early morning is quite similar to the feelings during the days of college.

Those of you who know me by now won’t be surprised if I’d say that I am reminded of some more instances from those days. Actually my memories are like the Pandora”s box, once opened, come out unchecked. You see the first day of my college was very similar to this Sunday morning, far as the weather was concerned. I was eager to go to my new college in my finest casuals, smart shoes, for I always thought, even now I still think that I am one good looking chap which both men and women(of all ages) can’t resist or help being attracted to. Now hold on before you start imaging more as to how I look, as it was only to wake you all – today being Sunday you see?

So I stepped into my college in very high spirits. But before I could even enter the building I was summoned by my seniors for ragging. I walked up to them with a big smiling hoping to win them in the very first meeting. The same thing was noticed by my seniors also, so they commented on me looking so happy and decided my entertainment activity for the day. I was asked to climb a nearby tree and sit on one of its branch. Just then an extremely beautiful girl entered  our college gate. As she came closer I found her even more stunning and fortunately for me a fresher too. She was stopped and asked to get ready for the ragging, to which she agreed sportingly. She was asked to climb the tree on which I was already sitting and occupy another branch. Thereafter, we were asked to sing a very popular song those days ‘Ek daal par tota bole, ek daal par maina’ if I were to translate this in English for you it would mean (a couple of love birds sitting on the tree and calling out to one another). Though we only knew the first few lines of the song, we were asked to repeat it again and again. All the girls and boys standing around the tree whistled, hooted and cheered for us and stood there laughing uncontrollably.

Surprisingly, this act was such a hit that we were called twice more from our classes and asked to give a repeat performance. Our seniors hugged us at the end of the third time and praised us for being so spontaneous and sporting, introduced themselves and treated us to tea and samosas. We were asked to feel free to walk up to them in case we had any problem in college.

I can’t help remembering the beautiful days of first year, but since we were new, the lecturers and professors also did not know us too well and they used to be very strict during lectures. One such lecturer was Mrs. Bakshi who was famous for her beauty and strictness in class. No one dared to utter anything unecessarily when her lecture was going on. Despite her severity, nobody missed her classes because she was too good looking a lady to be missed.

One day she was teaching the topic ‘Coordination’ and as usual there was pin drop silence in the class for every student sat in rapt attention, listening to each and every word spoken by her. She took a real life example to explain this topic even better saying, “You’ve all seen the football field and how members of a team pass the ball to their team members that is, A passes to B, B passes to C, C to D and at the end D to E which is a…” and our whole class shouted in unison, “And it’s a goaaalll!” We were so loud that everybody on that floor heard us and were shocked, there was a silence of a few seconds in our class, where both the teacher and the students did not what should be the next reaction. To our surprise Mrs. Bakshi started laughing and she was followed by the whole class. We continued to laugh for a long long time with most of us thinking ‘Ow!’, Mrs. Bakshi looks so much better when she laughs.

So after so many months the ice broke between the teacher and her students. We being notorious, as usual told the teacher that since it was the first time she had smiled… no laughed in our class, it was a moment to be celebrated, therefore, we should go to the canteen and enjoy it with coffee and samosas (our favourite snack). Yes, we were also hinting at getting a free period and no studies that day. To our surprise she agreed and we spent a wonderful hour with her and this is my ‘THEORY OF A HAPPY LIVING!’

4 comments

  1. Sejal Bhatnagar · June 21, 2015

    Lovely story!

    • shalaish · July 11, 2015

      Thank you Sejal, glad you liked it!

  2. Sidhanth · June 21, 2015

    Hahahahaaa! Great again, it’s a treat to read your blogs. I am also on a track back to the good old beautiful days… Thanks for taking us back! 🙂
    And happy to be a little more happy, waiting for the next post desperately! 🙂

    • shalaish · July 11, 2015

      Happy to see you happy and hope you keep finding such packets of hapiness in future too…:)

Leave a comment